WOULD

would cover

Hello dear ladies and boys, is everything fine? Today is a cold here and all I wanted is to drink a hot chocolate to drink and watch a good movie.
(O dia hoje está frio e tudo que eu queria era tomar um chocolate quentinho e assistir um bom filme).

What would you like to do if you had more time? Would you sleep more? Would you travel? Would you clean your house? What would that be?
(O que você gostaria de fazer se tivesse mais tempo? Dormiria mais? Viajaria mais? Limparia sua casa? O que você faria?)

Our chatlesson today is about the modal verb WOULD, so get ready and let`s learn a little bit more about this amazing modal! 

WOULD

It is a modal verb used to express:

Invitation Would you like to go to the party with me?
Convite- Você gostaria de ir à festa comigo?
Wish/ desire
I would like some sugar in my coffee
Desejo- Eu gostaria de um pouco de açúcar  no meu café.
To make offers
Would you like some coffee? tea? cookies?
Oferecer- Você gostaria de um pouco de café? Chá? Biscoitos?
Hypothetical ideas
I would travel around the world if I had money!
Ideia hipotética- Eu viajaria pelo mundo se eu tivesse dinheiro!
To make requests
Would you do me a favor?
Pedir algo– Você me faria um favor?

Interrogativequestion-mark-1750942_960_720

To make an interrogative statement you have to use the modal WOULD before the noun:
(Para fazer uma frase na interrogativa você simplesmente deve colocar WOULD antes do sujeito da frase).
whatever

Would you scream if you see a celebrity you like?
(Você gritaria se encontrasse uma celebridade que você gosta?)
What would you do if you had a million dollars?
(O que você faria se ganhasse 1 milhão de dólares?)
What would you do if it was the last day of your life?
(O que você faria se esse fosse seu ultimo dia de vida?)
What would you do if you could change your life right now?
(O que você faria se pudesse mudar sua vida agora?)
What would you do if you were the president of your country?
(O que você faria se fosse o presidente do seu país?)
Where would you go if you had time to travel?
(Onde você iria se tivesse mais tempo para viajar?)

Negative

To make negative statement you have to use the modal WOULD+ NOT after the noun.
(Para formar uma frase na negative deve usar WOULD+NOT depois do sujeito da frase).

WOULD NOT is more used in a written, formal language or when you want to emphasize the information you are trying to pass in your speech.
(WOULD NOT é forma formal de se fazer uma frase na negativa ou mesmo quando quer enfatizar algo).

In spoken language it is more used WOULDN`T.
(No dia a dia é mais comum quando se está conversando falar WOULDN`T).

burglary-1639422_960_720
I know John, he wouldn`t buy that house.
(Eu conheço o John, ele não compraria aquela casa).
If I were you, I would not send this file.
(Se eu fosse você, eu não mandaria esse arquivo).

Abbreviation

 

skipping-160101_960_720 To make the abbreviate form of WOULD, you can make the following:
I`d          He`d           It`d           They`d    You`d            She`d         We`d

He`d cook if he knew how to do it.
(Ele cozinharia se soubesse como cozinhar).
They`d meet more if they could.
(Eles se encontrariam mais se pudessem).
She`d wear this dress, if she had money to buy it.
(Ela usaria esse vestido, se tivesse dinheiro para comprá-lo).

womens-musicLet`s sing a pretty nice song from Beyoncé- If I were a boy.

Guys thank you so much for being here with me once and study about Would.
I hope to meet you all here agina soon.

lips-1560466_960_720

From now on Sissying your English- Abel Brandão

Leave a Reply

