CAN

dancers-cover can

Hello dear ladies and gentlemen, Can you dance?  Can you jive?

Today I was talking to a friend and he was saying to me how much difficult he has to understand the modals and he asked my help, and I`m writing this first post because I know just him there are a lot of people who have some difficult to understand the modals too.

(Hoje eu estava conversando com um amigo meu e ele estava falando o quanto ele tem dificuldade em entender os Modais. Assim como ele eu sei que há muitas pessoas que sentem essa mesma dificuldade, por isso estou escrevendo este post).

Every time that I talk about this modal, I remember all the things is possible for me and all the things I can do because I have the ability of doing them!

(Todas as vezes que falo desse Modal, eu lembro de todas as coisas que são possíveis para mim e todas as coisas que eu tenho habilidade e capacidade de fazer).

In our chatlesson today I`m going to start talking about CAN.

CAN

It is used to express an ability, possibility and probability in the Present moment:
(Can é usado para expressar uma habilidade, possibilidade e probabilidade no Presente).can-travel

I CAN speak English- Ability 
(Eu posso falar Inglês).
I CAN travel to Paris- Possibility
(Eu posso viajar para Paris).
They CAN buy that house- Probability
(Eles podem comprar aquela casa).

 
Pay attention that when you use CAN- you do not need to use the preposition TO between CAN and the next verb.
(Preste atenção que quando você usa Can não precisa usar a preposição To depois de Can).can cook chef

You can cook your meals.
(Você pode cozinhar sua comida).
She can tidy her bed.
(Ela pode organizar o quarto dela).
He can buy that car.
(Ele pode comprar aquele carro).

Interrogative

In the INTERROGATIVE form, you just change the sentence order, using the modal in the beginning of the sentence. CAN in a interrogative sentence is seen as neutral or informal by some authors:

(Na forma interrogativa, você só precisa mudar a sequencia da frase, colocando o Can no inicio da sentença. Se for fazer uma pergunta usando Can vale a pena lhe chamar a atenção para o fato de que Can é tido como informal ou neutro na interrogativa).hello-1379252_960_720

CAN I talk to you? (Eu posso falar com você?)
Can you give me the salt? (Você pode me dar o sal?)
Can she speak German? (Ela pode falar Alemão?)
Can you call me later?
(Você pode me ligar mais tarde?)

Negative

In the NEGATIVE you have two ways to answer. Generally in a spoken way you can say CAN`T which is the abbreviated form, and to be formal you can say CANNOT:
(Você tem duas formas de fazer uma frase na negativa, você tanto pode falar CAN`T que é a forma abreviada, ou CANNOT se quiser ser mais formal).can kiss

You CAN`T open the door. (Você não pode abrir a porta).
She CAN`T kiss me. (Ela não pode me beijar).
We CAN`T dance anymore! (Nós não podemos dançar mais!)

Can you sing a song in English? yeah?
Then, let`s try it.
Here we have a song and in it you can find many times Can and Could being used.
Let`s listen to it and then sing!!!
The Weeknd- Can`t feel my face!

child-playing-musicsinging-44576_960_720music-44574_960_720drum-1287910_960_720

Ladies and gentlemen thank you so much for being here with me once more studying and Learning.
I hope to see you soon again!

gay kiss

From now on Sissying your English- Abel Brandão!

Leave a Reply

