To Talk, To Tell, To Say, To Speak

speech-32267_960_720

Hello, hello my dear talkative friend?  Are you ok?

Honey, you have already researched, you have already read about it, you have done a lot of things, however you didn`t get to understand the difference among Talk, Tell, Say and Speak?!

(Querido, você já pesquisou, já leu, já fez de tudo, mas ainda não entrou na sua cabeça a diferença entre Talk, Tell, Say e Speak?!)

Ok then, in our chatlesson today we are going to talk about the difference among them!
(Pois bem, vamos falar (conversar) sobre eles em nosso chatlesson de hoje!)

Take your chair, a coffee and pay attention because i`m going to tell you the difference among the 4 verbs.
(Pega sua cadeira, um café e preste atenção porque eu vou te contar o que diferencia esses quatro verbos).

I have a lot of tings to say to you, but I promise that I won`t Speak too much! Eu tenho muita coisa pra te dizer,  porém prometo não falar demais.

TO TALK

communication-533621_960_720

Most of the time is used when you want to have a conversation.

 É usado quando você quer conversar (chat)

We need to talk about our relationship!
(Nós precisamos conversar sobre nossa relação)

 Let`s talk a little bit?!!
(Vamos bater um papinho?!!)

They talked on the phone for more than one hour.
(Eles conversaram no telefone por mais de 1 hora).

TO TELL

secret

 It`s used when you want to tell a fact, a history, a gossip or a situation to someone.

(Você usa quando quer contar algo a alguém, por exemplo: uma história, um fato ocorrido, uma fofoca…)

E.g.

Oh girl I have to tell you the juiciest gossips.
(Menina eu tenho que te contar uns babados fortíssimos!)

Lucy I need to tell you all the truth now, otherwise I`ll never be in peace!
(Lucy eu preciso te contar toda a verdade agora, ou eu nunca terei paz!)

Take your chair and come close, I`ll tell you the difference among the four verbs.
(Pegue sua cadeira e se achegue, eu vou te contar a diferença entre os quatro verbos)

When you make a request:
(Quando dar uma ordem):

Tell him that I want to meet him tomorrow!
(Diga a ele que eu quero me encontrar com ele amanhã).

arrow-39450_960_720

When you use the verb Tell, you don`t need to use the preposition TO after it.

(Quando você usa o verbo Tell, não precisa usar a preposição TO depois dele).

Tell me, please!
(Me conte, por favor!)

Tell her I`m coming.
(Diga a ela que estou chegando).

TO SAY

conversation-799448_960_720

It is used when you say what you heard or witnessed or even when you want express your thoughts, opinion and suggestion.

(É usado para dizer algo que ouviu ou testemunhou e também para expressar seus pensamentos, opinião e sugestões).

E.g.

What did you say?
(O que você disse?)

I will say this just one more time
(Eu vou dizer isso só mais uma vez)

Peter said to me that he loves me
(Peter me disse que me ama)

He said to me that he was going to come here yesterday!
(Ele me disse que ele viria aqui ontem).

write-990373_960_720

When you use the verb SAY, you must use the preposition TO after the verb.

(Quando você usa o verbo SAY, você deve usar a preposição TO depois do verbo).

Say to him that I saw everything he did last night!
(Fala pra ele que eu vi tudo que ele fez ontem a noite).

TO SPEAK
speaking

The general idea is to Speak a Language, however it is used when you want to speak a subject with someone.

(A ideia geral é que você use esse verbo para falar alguma língua, porém pode usá-lo quando quer falar com alguém algum assunto).

They speak English, Portuguese and Spanish.
(Eles falam Inglês, Português e Espanhol).

He was too ill to speak.
(Ele estava muito doente para falar).

I need to speak with you.
(Eu preciso falar contigo)

Don`t Speak!
(Não fale)

singing-18382_960_720

Let`s sing and practice a little bit more of what we have studied here today!!!

Here we have a really nice song! A Classic!

Dear cute friends who love to talk!

Thank you so much for being here with me once more!

I hope to see you soon

gay kiss

From now on Sissying your English- Abel Brandão

Leave a Reply

