To Do vs To Make

to do to make
Hello, hello my amazingly beautiful friend! How are you today?

For centuries there is a doubt in the mind of many students of English! Here`s the question!
(Há séculos uma dúvida paira na cabeça de muitos alunos da Língua Inglesa… Eis a questão!)

Have you ever stopped while you were writing something and wondered about the use of To Make or To Do? Which one should I use?
What a terrible doubt, huh?!!
(Você alguma vez já parou enquanto escrevia um texto ou e-mail e ficou refletindo: Qual  eu uso aqui? Do ou Make? )
(Que dúvida terrível, não é?!)

While talking to someone, then you once more ask yourself, which verb is the right one: To make or To do??? Yeah, Once I knew how it was difficult to know the difference between them.
(Quem nunca se perguntou enquanto falando com alguém se estaria certo usar o verbo Do ou será que seria melhor o Make).

Eu já soube bem como é isso!!!

That`s why today  in our chatlesson we are to talk the difference between them.
(Por isso hoje no nosso chatlesson, vamos abrir a cortina e te contar a diferença entre ambos os verbos).

Let`s start!emoji-inteligente

TO MAKE

This verb gives you the idea that you are going to make the thing using your hands, to create.
(Esse verbo faz referencia ao produto manipulado).

To makesignifica fazer
Você usa quando você cria ou constrói algo.

To Make clothes- Fazer roupas
My mother makes amazing clothes.

(Minha mãe faz roupas maravilhosas)

To Make cakes- Fazer bolos
Once I met a baker who makes delicious cakes.

(Um vez eu conheci um padeiro que faz bolos deliciosos)

You also can use it to talk about abstract things.
(Você também pode usar MAKE para falar sobre algo abstrato):

To Make suggestion- Fazer sugestões
He loves to make suggestions at work.

(Ele ama dar sugestões no trabalho)

To make a call- Fazer uma ligação 
I need to make a call right now. 

(Eu preciso fazer uma ligação agora)

To make a choice- Fazer uma escolha
You have just one chance, you must make a choice.

(Você só tem uma chance, você deve fazer uma escolha)

To make plans- Fazer planos
She likes to make plans about her future.

(Ela gosta de fazer planos sobre o futuro dela)

To make friends- Fazer amizade
I love to make new friends.

( Eu amo fazer novas amizades)

Did you understand the use of the verb to make?
(Deu pra entender o uso do Make?)
OK then, let`s check the use of the second verb.
(Beleza então, vamos agora para o segundo verbo).

TO DO

This verb gives the idea that there is an action happening in a process and that eventually this action will be accomplished.
(Esse verbo trata do processo de uma ação e remete a ideia de que a mesma será completa).

To Do- significa fazer

To do homework-Fazer a atividade
Max, If you do your homework I will give my dessert.

(Max se você fizer sua atividade de casa eu vou te dar minha sobremesa)

To do a good job-Fazer um bom trabalho
Congratulations! You always do a good job.

(Parabéns! Você sempre faz um ótimo trabalho)

To do a favor- fazer um favor
Could you do me a favor, please?

(Você poderia me fazer um favor,por favor?)

To do exercises- Fazer exercícios
You put on some weight, the doctor said you gotta do some exercises.

(Você ganhou uns quilos, o medico disse que você precisa fazer algum exercício).

You have to do your homework (you are the student)
Você tem que fazer a atividade (Você é o aluno)
I have to make the homework (I am the teacher)
Eu tenho que fazer (criar) a atividade (Eu sou o professor)

business-card-1258371_960_720

You also can use the verb to Do to substitute other verbs in a sentence.
(Você também pode usar o Do para substituir outros verbos numa oração):

Wash-Lavar
I`ll do the laundry tomorrow. 
(Eu vou lavar a roupa amanha)

Use-Usar
They do drugs all the time, I think they are addicted to them. 
(Eles usam drogas o tempo inteiro, eu acho que eles são viciados)

Clean-Limpar
I need to do the dishes tonight.
(Eu preciso lavar a louça  hoje a noite)

If you say- i need to make the dishes tonight- it means that you need to produce them.
Se você falar- I need to make the dishes tonight, isso quer dizer que você ira fazer (produzir) os pratos.

Paint-Pintar
She is going to do her nails later. 
(Ela vai pintar as unhas mais tarde)

Take-Fazer
I will do my test next week.
(Eu vou fazer meu teste próxima semana)

If you say- I will make my test- It means that you are going to elaborate it as a teacher.
Se você falar- I will make my test next week- quer dizer que você ira elaborar o teste.

palestra

Pay attention to this special sentence!
(Preste atenção a esta frase).

Make do- se virar
I`m going to make do with the little money I have.
(Eu vou me virar com o pouco dinheiro que tenho )

music-score-notes

A song for you to practice Do and Make a little bit more!

Thank you so much for begin with me!

See you soon!emoji-beijando-e-coracao

From now on Sissying your English- Abel Brandão

 

Leave a Reply

